EISA Kenya: Goodwill message on 20th Anniversary

See also: EISA's 20th Anniversary: Goodwill messages

EISA Kenya office was opened in 2010 and has since been actively engaged in implementing governance and democracy strengthening programmes. Specifically, EISA has supported the work of key institutions charged with playing a critical role in the democratic and electoral process. Among the institutions supported include political parties, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), Office of the Registrar of Political Parties (ORPP), and Political Parties Dispute Tribunal (PPDT).

Major accomplishments realised as a result of programme implementation since 2010 include support to electoral reforms through development of the Elections, the Political Parties, and the IEBC Acts of 2011, following the promulgation of the Constitution in 2010. EISA also conducted a comprehensive audit of the efficacy of the electoral laws and process in Kenya within the context of 2013 elections that led to the development of Election Sector Law reforms that are contained in the Election Law (Amendment) Bill, 2016 and the Political Parties (Amendment Bill), 2015. In preparation for the 2013 elections, EISA supported the Judiciary Committee on Elections (JCE) through training of the Bench that was constituted to determine the election petitions, leading to expeditious resolution of electoral disputes lodged with the Judiciary in the post-election period.

Other notable achievements include establishment of Conflict Management Panels (CMPs) which, through their mediation efforts and collaboration with IEBC contributed to peaceful 2013 elections; Harmonisation of the Electoral Dispute Resolution (EDR) regime in Kenya and contributing to existing knowledge base on elections and governance through various publications including a handbook on the Election Laws and Process in Kenya, Compliance Checklists for Political Parties, model dispute resolution template for political parties, and a Guide to the Mandates and Procedures of County Government in Kenya.