Mauritius: Government members

Updated November 2012

As of 10 February 2012

President: Rajkeswur Purryag

Prime Minister, Minister of Defence, Home Affairs and External Communications and Minister of Rodrigues: Dr Navinchandra Ramgoolam

Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Energy and Public Utilities: Dr Ahmed Rashid Beebeejaun

Vice-Prime Minister, Minister of Finance and Economic Development: Charles Gaëtan Xavier Luc Duval

Vice-Prime Minister, Minister of Public Infrastructure, National Development Unit

Land Transport and Shipping: Anil Kumar Bachoo

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade: Dr Arvin Boolell

Minister of Housing and Lands: Dr Abu Twalib Kasenally

Minister of Social Security, National Solidarity and Reform Institutions: Sheilabai Bappoo

Minister of Education and Human Resources: Dr Vasant Kumar Bunwaree

Minister of Agro-Industry and Food Security: Satya Veyash Faugoo

Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development: Devanand Virahsawmy

Minister of Tertiary Education, Science, Research and Technology: Dr Rajeshwar Jeetah

Minister of Information and Communication Technology: Tassarajen Pillay Chedumbrum

Minister of Fisheries: Louis Joseph Von-Mally

Minister of Youth and Sports: Satyaprakash Ritoo

Minister of Local Government and Outer Islands: Louis Hervé Aimée

Minister of Arts and Culture: Mookhesswur Choonee

Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment: Shakeel Ahmed Yousuf Abdul Razack Mohamed

Minister of Tourism and Leisure: John Michaël Tzoun Sao Yeung Sik Yuen

Minister of Health and Quality of Life: Lormus Bundhoo

Minister of Industry, Commerce and Consumer Protection: Sayyad Abd-Al-Cader Sayed-Hossen

Minister of Social Integration and Economic Empowerment: Surendra Dayal

Minister of Business, Enterprise and Cooperatives: Jangbahadoorsing Iswurdeo Mola Roopchand Seetaram

Minister of Gender Equality, Child Development and Family Welfare: Maria Francesca Mireille Martin

Minister of Civil Service and Administrative Reforms: Sutyadeo Moutia

Attorney General: Yatindra Nath Varma


GOVERNMENT OF MAURITIUS 2012 "Profile of the President", [opens new window] (accessed 22 Nov 2012).

GOVERNMENT OF MAURITIUS 2012 "Ministers", [opens new window] (accessed 22 Nov 2012).

Official Websites

Government: [opens new window] (accessed 29 Nov 2010).
National Assembly: [www] [opens new window] (accessed 29 Nov 2010).
Rodrigues Regional Assembly: [opens new window] (accessed 29 Nov 2010).