South Africa: Parties in 2019 National Assembly election

Updated May 2019

Forty eight parties registered for the election; the following lists are not exhaustive.

Parties formed after 2014 election

Parties included obtained more than 0.1% in the 2019 National Assembly elections, and are ordered by the percentage vote they obtained.

Party Leader Founding
GOOD Patricia De Lille 2 Dec 2018
African Transformation Movement (ATM) Vuyolwethu Zungula Jun 2019
African Security Congress (ASC) Tebogo Motloung before May 2017
Black First Land First (BLF) Andile Mngxitama 24 Oct 2015
Socialist Revolutionary Workers Party (SRWP) Irvin Jim Mar 2019
Afrikan Alliance of Social Democrats (AASD) Pappie Mokoena 2018

Parties with seats in 2014 National Assembly

Parties are ordered by the number of votes obtained. Note:

  • Mogamad Ganief Ebrahim Hendricks, Al Jama-ah (formed Apr 2007) did not win seats in the 2014 election, and are not on the list.
  • The African People's Convention and Agang South Africa are listed below because they won seats in the 2014 election, but they failed to obtain seats in the 2019 election.
Party Leader Founding
African National Congress (ANC)
Former: South African Native National Congress
Cyril Ramaphosa
Jacob Gedleyihlekisa Zuma
Thabo Mvuyelwa Mbeki
Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela (retired 1999)
Oliver R Tambo (d 1993)
Chief Albert Lutuli (d 1967)
Dr JS Moroka
Dr Xuma
JT Gumede
John L Dube (d 1946)
8 January 1912
Democratic Alliance (DA)
Formerly: Democratic Party, Progressive Federal Party, Progressive Reform Party, Progressive Party.
Mmusi Maimane
Otta Helene Maree "Helen Zille"
Anthony (Tony) James Leon
Zach de Beer, Dr Fredrick van Zyl Slabbert, Colin Eglin, Jan Steytler
13 November 1959
Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) Julius Sello Malema 10 Jul 2013
Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP)
Formerly: Inkatha National Cultural Liberation Movement
Prince Mangosuthu Buthelezi 21 March 1975
Vryheidsfront Plus
AKA Freedom Front Plus, Alliance 2000+
Previously: Freedom Front, Afrikaner Volksfront
Dr Petrus Johannes "Pieter" Groenewald
Dr Pieter Willem Mulder
General Constand L Viljoen
October 1993
African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP) Rev Kenneth Rasalabe Joseph Meshoe December 1993
National Freedom Party (NFP) Zanele kaMagwaza-Msibi 25 Jan 2011
United Democratic Movement (UDM) General Bantu Harrington Holomisa September 1997
African Independent Congress (AIC) Mandlenkosi Phillip Galo 12 Dec 2005
Congress of the People (COPE) Mosiuoa Lekota 16 December 2008
Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC) Narius Kolobe Moloto
Luthando Richmond Mbinda
Seropane Senyane Alton Mpheti
Letlapa Moroatshoge Mphahlele
Motsoko Pheko
Dr Mmutlanyane S Mogoba, Zephania Lekoane Mothopeng (d 1990), David Maphgumzana Sibeko (d 1979), Robert Mangaliso Sobukwe (d 1977)
6 April 1959
African People's Convention Nelson Themba Godi Sep 2007
Agang SA Molapi Andries Plouamma
Michael Malisa Tshishonga
Dr Mamphela Aletta Ramphele
22 Jun 2013