South Africa: Other parties registered at national level 2009

Updated March 2009

Parties are ordered by date of founding and alphabetically. All of these parties were registered with the IEC in 2009. Parties that have not participated in national elections are excluded from the list.

  • Some may no longer exist (God's People's Party, for instance has not competed in an election since 1999).
  • Others, though registered on a national level, compete only in municipal elections (eg the Independent Civic Organisation of South Africa).
  • Yet other parties are competing as part of a coalition in 2009. The Dabalorivhuwa Patriotic Front, for instance, competed in the 2006 local government elections, but forms part of the A Party coalition for the 2009 elections.
Party Leaders Founding
South African Communist Party
Formerly: Communist Party of South Africa
Blade Nzimande (SG) 1921
Workers International Vanguard League (WIVL)
Formerly: Trotskyist Revolutionaries
Shaheed Mahomed 1985
Boerestaat Party (BSP) Coen Vermaak
Robert van Tonder (d 1999)
Workers Party (WP) Thulani Dorius Hlatshwayo 1989? 2 June 1999?
Merit Party (MP) Sol Schkolne before 1994
Abolition of Income Tax and Usury Party Nicholas Lang 1994
Africa Muslim Party (AMP) Dr I Sooliman 1994
Regte/Right Party (RP) George Sinclair 1994
Formerly: eThekwini Ecopeace, eThekwini Ecoparty
Alan Murphy 1995
Dabalorivhuwa Patriotic Front (DPF) Tshifhiwa Samuel Makhale January 1998
God's People's Party (GPP) JHJ van Rensburg July 1998
The Socialist Party of Azania (SOPA) Tiyani Lybon Mabasa 21 March 1998
Christian Democratic Party Rev Theunis Botha 9 Sep 1999
Green Party of SA (GPGP)
Formerly: Government by the People Green Party
Judy Sole 1999
Independent Civic Organisation of South Africa (ICOSA) LS Dlamini? 1999
Simunye in Christ Organisation (SIMUNYE) R Mogudi? 1999
The South African Region of Independent Churches (SARIC) 1999
The Employment Movement of South Africa Michael Reitz 1999
South African Political Alliance (SAFPA) before 2000
Alliance for Democracy and Prosperity (ADP) Mogoboya Nelson Ramodike 2003
National Success Party 2003
Peace and Development Party (PDP) Jan Hendrick Slabbert 2003
National Christian Democratic Party (NCDP) before 2004
United Front (UF) Sibusiso Radebe 2003
United Moral Movement for the Advancement of All (UMMA) before 2004
African Nazareth Democratic Movement (ANDM) Thokozani Hlatshwayo Jan 2004
Khoisan United Front (KUF) Stanley van der Berg 2004
Royal Loyal Progress (RLP) Dudu Melta Sibiya 2004
Christen Party/Christian Party (CP) Louis Johannes Botha Marneweck Sep 2005
Federation of Democrats Louis Green Sep 2005
African Christian Alliance
AKA Afrikaner Christen Alliansie
Petrus Johannes van der Westhuizen Nov 2005
Ubumbano Lwesizwe Independent Residence Association (ULIRA) Sibani Robert Mdletshe 2005
Value, Education, Nationalism, Democracy in Africa (VENDA) DA Mathivha 2005
World Solidarity Movement (WSM) Bernardo van Heerden-Baez 2005
South African Business Party (SABP) Claire Last 15 Mar 2006
Freedom Power Thembinkosi Masinga 13 Jan 2008
Conservative Party Peet Booysen 23 Jun 2008
A Party Anthony Penderis Dec 2008
Ahanang People's Organisation Jeri Kekana 2008
United Citizen Forum of South Africa Marie L Carter
Dr Weston Shabangu
Azanian Native Socialist Congress Mzwanele Zulu 10 Jan 2009
Afrika Borwa Kgutlisa Botho Malefu Potsane
National Republican Party (NRP)